Wingin’ It

A production company’s journey of taking a feature film script to the big screen

Rewiring

Hard wired is a term one might use to describe me. I see a goal I want to reach, I simply plot a straight line to it and damn the obstacles; if there’s a wall, climb it or go through it. But a funny thing happened on the way to becoming a filmmaker – rewiring.

My wife illustrated it for me and it was staggeringly clear:

Image

I saw that the path I had chosen was a dead-end. I don’t know any big names in show business that I can contact to help with my latest ‘project’. Finding a co-producer will be impossible considering my lack of experience, funds, contacts… So the hardwired route had to change. How do you get the experience, contacts and at least a chance at funding when starting from scratch?

You just do it. That means a long and winding road filled with gained experiences and contacts.

If I wanted to be a filmmaker I had to decide first in what capacity. After filming two shorts I’ve determined my wheelhouse is writing. I’ve been doing it for more than half my life; a dozen years as an advertising copywriter, published in newspapers and magazines, published author with BookStrand Publishing, and I’ve honed my screenwriting chops on many scripts. Those short scripts, especially the last one, Upon Reflection, received a lot of praise from interested actors. So, writing is my strength but I don’t want to wade back into the sales pool; it’s very crowded and guarded. I want to make Final Wishes myself.

Again, if I want to make that feature I want to take on a larger role beyond the writing – I want to direct it. Which brings me to the second lesson learned from my recent short film – I have to focus my attention on those two areas; writing and directing.

So here starts that journey, one that I want to share with those in a similar position. I know that one learns from experience and I want to share what I learn along the way. There is a good chance that Final Wishes may never see the light, but there’s an equal chance that it will. I think I’ll focus on the half of the glass that’s full.

Leave a Reply

